Chocolate Chip Pulp Muffins

  Hello, my name is Chelsea and I’m a choco-holic. How many of you would be at this meeting? Luckily for us, juice pulp goes very nicely with chocolate! It’s a special treat to have chocolate in the morning, but when I’m pairing it with pulp I feel better about it (as opposed to just eating cocoa krispies!). Plus, they go amazingly well with coffee! I’ve tried a number of muffin recipes with juice pulp, and this one is up there with the best of them. 

Yield: 12 muffins
Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour (I used half all-purpose, half whole wheat and I wouldn’t recommend using all whole wheat because it will be a bit too dense)
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cardamon
  • 2/3 cup milk 
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/2 cup juice pulp (preferrably with fruit, I used this one)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (pecans or walnuts) 
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. Grease muffin tins
  3. Stir together flour, sugars, baking powder, and spices in a large bowl.
  4. In another bowl, stir milk, butter, juice pulp and vanilla.
  5. Make a well in center of dry ingredients. Add milk mixture and mix.
  6. Stir in chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.
  7. Spoon batter into tins. 
  8. Bake for 30 minutes or until tester comes out clean.
  9. Remove muffins and cool.
Notes

I’m really interested if these muffins will translate well into a vegan recipe — if anyone tries a milk substitute, please let me know how it goes! I adapted this recipe from one I found that was highly rated on food.com. If you like, you can double the amount of chocolate chips and dark chocolate works well. The pulp I used was made with ingredients that lent themselves well to baking, but you may want to remove any large chunks of fruit and veg, or you can pass it through a food processor to break up the larger pieces. 

 
2 responses to “Chocolate Chip Pulp Muffins

  1. Pingback: Fabulously Fluffy Pulp Pancakes | Juice and Pulp Recipes·

Leave a Reply

