Oatmeal Pulp Muffins

  I’m always looking for ways to make the morning easier when I have to be out of the house early. The less I time I have to spend getting myself together means the more time I get to sleep in! These oatmeal muffins are great for hurried mornings because they reheat perfectly after being frozen, which means I’m reparing a to-go breakfast in 60 seconds and it’s full of fiber, vitamins, minerals and other nutrients — win-win!!

Yield 12 muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 2/3 juice pulp, preferrably something fruity or a veg/fruit combo like A-OK
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup honey or brown sugar (only pack down if you want them sweeter)
  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 2-3 tbsp flaxseed meal
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cardamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/3 cup milk or substitute
  • extras: apple pieces, chopped walnuts, chocolate chips, berries, brown sugar, banana pieces, etc…basically anything you would want in your oatmeal.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Place paper muffin cups in a muffin tin. (I can’t vouch for just greasing the tin at this tim.)
  2. Mix pulp, vanilla and sweetener in a large bowl.
  3. Add oats, flax, spices, baking powder and salt. Mix well.
  4. Add milk. Stir until combined.
  5. Section off dough and add extras. You could literally make 12 different flavors.
  6. Scoop dough into tin. Pile them as high as necessary. They won’t expand. 
  7. Bake 30 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.
  8. Cool and freeze in freezer bag.

Notes
I will be the first one to admit that this recipe seems a bit dubious. Oatmeal…muffins…? I had never tried such a thing! Oatmeal is something you eat out of a bowl and not as a muffin! Turns out, these are pretty good! I love the smell of the spices warming up with the milk and oatmeal in the morning and I don’t have to cook! I do not suggest making these without any extras. I made a couple plain as a control group and my tastebuds were quite underwhelmed. Then again, I’m a fan of big flavor.

Adapted from Sugar Free Mom

9 comments

    • Thanks so much, Poppy! That’s super sweet of you! I think you’ll really like my next pulp post — I made your burgers and sauce! So delicious! I can’t wait to try more of your recipes!

  1. These are wonderful muffins! I love them! They would be really good for breakfast as they are not super sweet. I added about a cup of craisens to my recipe and it added just the right additional sweetness and tangy taste without extra sugar. Another big plus is using the pulp from my daily juicing. I highly recommend this recipe!

  2. soooo yummy! just made them and can’t stop eating 🙂 thanks! how long would you recommend keeping them in the freezer? would you warm them up in the oven/microwave or?

    • I’m glad you enjoy these! They’re also my favorite. I usually keep them in the freezer 1-2 weeks in a ziplock bag. I’m not sure how long they could keep (I usually eat them quite quickly). I like to warm them in my toaster oven the best, the microwave make them a little soggy, but it works in a pinch. I usually take one or two out of the freezer the night before and then simply warm them in the oven as I’m getting ready. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

