Vegan Enchilada Pulp Casserole

When I was preparing this enchilada casserole, I didn’t really expect it to turn out. Not only was I attempting a vegan version of a dish I had always loved with meat and cheddar cheese, but I was also trying my hand at homemade vegan cheese!! I’m happy to report, however, that this time the risk seriously paid off! Not only was the vegan cheese simple to make, but this casserole absolutely knocked my socks off. I was not prepared for such deliciousness! I’ve made my fair share of enchilada casseroles and this one was the best — bar none. 



Serves 5-6

Ingredients

  • ~2 cups enchilada sauce (from a packet or can, El Pato is my fave)
  • 1 tsp cumin (optional)
  • 1 tsp coriander (optional)
  • Corn tortillas
  • Homemade vegan cheese, or substitute 
  • 1-2 slices Pulploaf 
  • 1-2 cups pulp, thawed if frozen (the more veg the better)
  • Extras: corn, beans, black olives, frozen peas, mushrooms, etc.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. If you are going for extra flavor, mix enchilada sauce with cumin and coriander.
  3. Mix the pulp with extras.
  4. Generously coat the bottom of an 11×7 baking dish with enchilada sauce.
  5. Place a layer or tortillas over the sauce. You may need to get creative to have tortilla on the corners. I simply broke one tortilla into quarters to get a 90 degree edge.
  6. Spoon sauce over tortillas.
  7. Layer in pulp and extras mix, lightly spoon over sauce.
  8. Add in a layer of vegan cheese.
  9. Add a layer of Pulploaf.
  10. Place tortillas onto the top and press down.
  11. Repeat steps 6-9 until you have filled the dish. Finish with a layer or tortilla covered with sauce.
  12. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until heated through.

Notes

Ohmygosh!


You guys…you guys…

I MADE VEGAN CHEESE!!!

And guess what? It’s shockingly delicious and super easy to make! Honestly, I think it’s going to change my life. No joke. I’m excited to try it in other recipies.

PS. I first learned about making vegan cheese from Poppy’s Patisserie (the thought of making my own vegan cheese had literally never crossed my mind before her post)…shout out to Ms. Poppy! Thanks for the head’s up!

4 responses to “Vegan Enchilada Pulp Casserole

  1. Pingback: Vegan Almond-Pulp “Cheese” | Juice and Pulp Recipes·

Leave a Reply

