Hearty Corn Pulp Bread (No Added Sugar!)

It’s hard to believe it’s been two years since I posted to this blog. For the past year, I have been living homefree and haven’t had many opportunities to juice or cook. Now that I have a home again, one of the first things I did was bust out the juicer. And of course, I cooked with it! Let me tell you, my first recipe back from hiatus is a great one! This corn bread, adapted from Grandmother’s Buttermilk Cornbread, is hearty enough to compliment any chili and doesn’t have any added sugar, so it’s great for those who are cutting back on sweets. I think it’s perfect for a summer barbecue.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2/3 cup juice pulp (I used apple, golden beet, carrot, kale)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup whole wheat baking flour (or all-purpose flour)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease an 8×8 pan.
  2. Melt butter in saucepan. Remove from heat. Stir in pulp. Add eggs and beat until blended.
  3. Combine buttermilk and baking soda. Add to butter mix.
  4. Stir in cornmeal, flour and salt until well blended.
  5. Pour into pan.
  6. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. 

Leave a Reply

