Double Chocolate Chip Pulp Cookies

These cookies are sure to please any choco-holic. I used cacao, a natural stimulant, which gave me a good excuse to eat one whenever I needed a pick-me-up. I modified this popular recipe to include pulp. 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, room temperature or softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar (I used brown sugar)
  • 3/4 cup juice pulp (I used a Classic ABC with golden beet)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour (I used organic whole wheat baking flour)
  • 2/3 cup cacao (or cocoa, as in the original recipe)
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed (optional)
  • 2 cups chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and/or coconut flakes (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. Beat butter, sugar, juice pulp, eggs, and vanilla in a large bowl, until light and fluffy.
  3. Mix flour, cacao, baking soda, salt, and flax.
  4. Combine dry ingredients with wet ingredients. Mix well. 
  5. Stir in chocolate chips, nuts and coconut. 
  6. Drop in rounded teaspoons onto cookie sheets.
  7. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until set
  8. Allow cookies to cool before eating

Leave a comment